Explain: What is Google Enhanced Safe Browsing?

A data breach can dramatically affect a person’s life, and the most common fraud witnessed by innocent people is identity theft via email, which can lead to huge losses. . According to Statista, 300,497 people were victims of identity theft by 2023, with a staggering 58,859 people facing a data breach.

And in light of the rise of phishing attacks, Google is urging users to enable enhanced safe browsing. The message was first spotted by 9to5Google and reads: “Over the past few days, Google has been heavily touting improved safe browsing capabilities in the Gmail app.”

Notifications show up right above the inboxes of Android, iOS, and desktop users. It reads: “Get extra protection against identity theft”

“Enable Enhanced Safe Browsing for extra protection from malicious emails,” be added.

This option can be easily removed by clicking the “No thanks” button, but if you want to add an extra layer of protection to your Google Account, clicking the “Continue” button will bring users to “Safe Browsing with Boosts for Your Account”

Source: Google

What exactly is Google Advanced Safe Browsing?

According to Google Account Help, “Safe Browsing enhances your account automatically in the background to provide faster, proactive protection against malicious websites, downloads, and extensions.”

“If you choose to enable Enhanced Safe Browsing for your account, Enhanced Safe Browsing protects you when you’re signed in and improves your security in Google Chrome and Gmail,” be added.

Basically, this feature adds an extra layer of security to your Google account. Security updates are out in 2020 and

See also  Assam 4 Year UG Admission Portal For Final Round Admission To Open Soon, Check Details Here

The standard version of Safe Browsing works by comparing the URLs of the websites you visit with local listings. It continues to detect and warn dangerous events as they occur.

Advanced Safe Browsing works on top of the standard version of Safe Browsing. It uses Google’s cloud-based servers to check websites in real time against a much larger list of known dangerous websites.

Unlike the standard version, it predicts and warns of dangerous events before they happen.

It also alerts users if their passwords are exposed due to a data breach so they can change them immediately.

However, this comes at a price. By enabling Enhanced Safe Browsing, Google can store your data for a short period of time and ensure it is deleted after a while.

Here’s what Google’s blog says: “By choosing Enhanced Safe Browsing, users are sharing more security-related information to improve their protection online. This data is used for security purposes only and will be deleted after a short period of time.”

How do I set up Enhanced Safe Browsing?

Here are the steps to enable Enhanced Safe Browsing on your desktop:

  • Click the three dots in the upper right corner next to your profile picture.
  • Tap Settings and click Privacy & Security
  • Scroll down and click Security
  • Click Enhanced Protection

In summary, although Safe Browsing does enhance the storage of some of your information, it is a powerful tool that can protect you from online threats. By enabling this security feature, you can help protect your personal information.

Categories: Optical Illusion
Source: tiengtrunghaato.edu.vn

Rate this post

Leave a Comment